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Executive Summary 
The Texas Indigent Defense Commission (TIDC) monitors local jurisdictions’ 

compliance with the Fair Defense Act through policy reviews.1 TIDC observed court, 
interviewed officials, and reviewed FY2019 data from Montgomery County, and made 
five findings of noncompliance. In adult cases, TIDC found that judges did not always 
inform defendants of the right to counsel or rule on requests for counsel. Recent changes 
to front-end procedures—such as screening defendants for eligibility for appointed 
counsel before the 15.17 hearing—should help address these findings. In juvenile cases, 
TIDC found that, for juveniles who were not detained, the court sometimes failed to 
timely appoint counsel or order the retention of counsel.  

TIDC thanks Montgomery County officials and staff for their assistance in 
completing this review. TIDC staff stand ready to provide technical and financial 
assistance to remedy these issues. TIDC will conduct a follow-up review regarding its 
findings within two years.2 

Background 
The Texas Indigent Defense Commission (TIDC) monitors local jurisdictions’ 

compliance with the Fair Defense Act (FDA) policy reviews.3 These reviews are 
conducted to promote local compliance with the requirements of the Fair Defense Act 
and to provide technical assistance to improve county indigent defense processes. 

This review focused on the first five of the six FDA core requirements:4  
REQUIREMENT 1: CONDUCT PROMPT AND ACCURATE ARTICLE 15.17 PROCEEDINGS 
REQUIREMENT 2: DETERMINE INDIGENCE ACCORDING TO STANDARDS DIRECTED BY THE 

INDIGENT DEFENSE PLAN 
REQUIREMENT 3: ESTABLISH MINIMUM ATTORNEY QUALIFICATIONS 
REQUIREMENT 4:  APPOINT COUNSEL PROMPTLY 
REQUIREMENT 5: INSTITUTE A FAIR, NEUTRAL, AND NONDISCRIMINATORY ATTORNEY 

SELECTION PROCESS  
REQUIREMENT 6: REPORT DATA REQUIRED BY STATUTE 

TIDC staff members Wesley Shackelford, Lindsay Bellinger, Claire Buetow, and 
Joel Lieurance conducted the review virtually. TIDC examined FY2019 data, including 
misdemeanor and felony case files; summary records examined by juvenile probation; 
the local indigent defense plan; appointment lists; and records of attorney continuing 

 
1 TEX. GOV’T CODE § 79.037(a)–(b). TIDC conducted this review virtually. 
2 Title 1 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 174.28(c)(2). 
3 TEX. GOV’T CODE § 79.037(a)–(b). 
4 1 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 174.28. 
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legal education (CLE) hours. TIDC interviewed judges and court staff and observed 
online Article 15.17 hearings, felony dockets, and misdemeanor dockets. 

Program Assessment 

REQUIREMENT 1: CONDUCT PROMPT AND ACCURATE ARTICLE 15.17 
PROCEEDINGS 

Under Article 15.17 of the Code of Criminal Procedure, an arrested person must 
be brought before a magistrate within 48 hours.5 At this hearing, the magistrate must 
inform the person of his or her right to counsel, inform the person of the procedures for 
requesting counsel, and ensure the person has reasonable assistance in completing the 
necessary forms for requesting counsel.6 Magistrates must transmit requests for counsel 
to the appointing authority within 24 hours.7 If a person is arrested on an out-of-county 
warrant, the magistrate must perform the same duties as if the person were arrested 
on an in-county warrant.8  

Figure 1a: Timeline for Appointment of Counsel in Adult Criminal Cases 

 
 
 

Local Practices for Conducting Magistrate Warnings 
 This past year, Montgomery County modified its pretrial practices to provide 
defense counsel for newly arrested defendants when they appear before a magistrate.9 
TIDC observed multiple Article 15.17 hearings over zoom on August 6, 7, and 10, 2020. 
Defendants appeared before a magistrate at the jail shortly after arrest; the judge and 
all other non-defendant participants (a prosecutor, a defense attorney, and an 

 
5 TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ART. 15.17(a). 
6 TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ART. 15.17(a). 
7 TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ART. 15.17(a). 
8 TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ART. 15.18(a). A list of contacts to send out-of-county requests is 
available at: http://tidc.tamu.edu/public.net/Reports/OutOfCountyArrestContacts.aspx. 
9 In Montgomery County, attorneys previously did not represent defendants at the Article 
15.17 hearing. Many of the case files reviewed by TIDC operated under the old system without 
counsel present at the hearing. 

Code of Crim. Proc., art. 15.17 
 

http://tidc.tamu.edu/public.net/Reports/OutOfCountyArrestContacts.aspx
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interpreter) appeared virtually. The defense attorney10 did not meet with defendants 
prior to the hearing.  

The judge commenced the hearing with a group admonition: 
A good defense attorney is here to represent you at no cost to you. If 
you don’t want him to represent you, tell me when you come up. … The county 
is providing his experience and expertise to you for free. If you’re released on 
bond and haven’t been interviewed for a lawyer, you will get information about 
interviewing with the attorney appointment office. If you cannot afford an 
attorney, you have the right to request the appointment of an attorney.  

The judge continued with the remaining warnings required by Article 15.17. After the 
warnings, the judge asked a Spanish interpreter to read the warnings to the group in 
Spanish.11  

The magistrate first addressed defendants who had requested a review of 
previously set bail bonds. Defendants can request a bail bond review if they wish to 
challenge the amount originally set at the Article 15.17 hearing. The review is set for 
the next business day after the Article 15.17 hearing. To begin, the prosecutor argued 
in favor of the original bail bond setting. Then the defense attorney argued for reduced 
bail.12 

 After the bond review hearing, the magistrate addressed defendants with new 
charges. The prosecutor read aloud the probable cause affidavit and recited the 
defendant’s criminal history. Defense counsel periodically challenged the bail amounts 
recommended by the prosecutor. In some instances, defendants tried to argue about 
their respective cases, but defense counsel advised them to stop, because the evidence 
could be used against them. The magistrate then made probable cause determinations, 
set bail, and asked whether defendants wanted to request counsel. 

On August 7, the magistrate set personal bonds for some defendants, but did not 
ask defendants who received a personal bond whether they wished to request counsel. 
After the hearing, TIDC informed the court that Article 15.17 required the magistrate 
to ask all defendants whether they want to request counsel, regardless of whether the 
defendant is given a personal bond. The magistrates met about this matter and 
corrected it, as observed by TIDC staff on August 10. Article 15.17(e) requires 

 
10 The defense attorney at the Article 15.17 hearing provides limited scope representation 
(limited to the hearing). If the defendant requests counsel and is determined to be indigent, an 
attorney will be appointed who continues representing the defendant through case disposition. 
11 The interpreter did not translate the judge’s words, but gave the 15.17 warnings in her 
words after the judge’s explanation of the hearing. 
12 At the time of TIDC’s observations, local hearing procedures were in flux. Officials stated 
they had asked attorneys to meet with defendants prior to bond review hearings, but based on 
the nature of some arguments, it was unclear whether they had done so. 
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magistrates to ask and record whether each defendant requested counsel, regardless of 
bail bond status. As part the follow-up review, TIDC will verify that magistrates 
continue to ask all arrestees whether they want to request appointed counsel. 

At the time of TIDC’s observations, defendants who requested counsel 
interviewed with the Office of Indigent Defense after the hearing. Montgomery County 
has since changed these procedures so that defendants interview with the Office prior 
to the hearing.13 The Office asks defendants questions regarding their income, assets, 
dependents, and public benefits and appoints counsel for those who qualify as indigent. 

1.a. Timeliness of Warnings 
An arrested person must be brought before a magistrate within 48 hours of 

arrest.14 TIDC presumes a county is in substantial compliance with the prompt 
magistration requirement if at least 98% of Article 15.17 hearings are conducted within 
48 hours.15 To determine the timeliness of Article 15.17 warnings in Montgomery 
County, TIDC staff examined 395 sample case files in which staff could determine the 
time from arrest until the Article 15.17 hearing. All but one sample case had Article 
15.17 hearings occurring within two days of arrest, indicating Montgomery County is 
providing warnings in a timely manner (see Table 1).  

Table 1: Timeliness of Article 15.17 Hearings 
 Sample Size Percent 
Article 15.17 hearing occurs x days after arrest: 395  

 

0 days 101 25.6% 
1 day 290 73.4% 
2 days 3 0.8% 

Timely Hearings 394 99.7% 
     More than 2 days 1 0.3% 

1.b. Ability of Arrested Persons to Request Counsel  
At the Article 15.17 hearing, the magistrate must inform an arrested person of 

the right to counsel, ask whether he or she wants to request counsel, and record whether 

 
13 The Montgomery County Court Indigent Defense Plan now states:  

For defendants appearing before a magistrate in the Montgomery County Jail, the Office of 
Indigent Defense will ensure assistance in completing an Affidavit of Financial Condition 
for the arrestee prior to the magistrate court. If defendant requests court appointed 
attorney at the time of magistration, the Office of Indigent Defense certifies the accuracy of 
their Affidavit for the purpose of determining eligibility for court appointed counsel. 

14 TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ART. 15.17(a). 
15 1 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 174.28(c)(1). Article 15.17(a) requires magistrate warnings occur 
within 48 hours of arrest. To simplify time measurement, TIDC assumes warnings are timely 
if they occur within 2 days of arrest. 
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the person requests counsel.16 Of sample case files examined by TIDC, 72% of felony 
arrestees requested counsel, and 52% of misdemeanor arrestees requested counsel. This 
is an indication that arrested persons understand their right to counsel at the Article 
15.17 hearing and regularly request counsel.  

1.c. Reasonable Assistance in Completing Forms for Requesting Counsel 
 At the Article 15.17 hearing, a magistrate must ensure the arrested person has 
reasonable assistance in completing the necessary forms for requesting counsel.17 In 
Montgomery County, the forms necessary for requesting counsel are completed at 
interviews with financial screeners at the Office of Indigent Defense. These forms are 
now completed prior to the Article 15.17 hearing. 

1.d. Transmitting Forms to the Appointing Authority 
Within 24 hours of a person requesting counsel, the magistrate must transmit 

this request to the entity authorized to appoint counsel.18 For persons arrested on out-
of-county warrants, the magistrate must transmit the request to the warrant issuing 
county.19 Affidavits of indigence are completed with a financial screening interview at 
the Office of Indigent Defense. Currently, affidavits of indigence are completed prior to 
the Article 15.17 hearing.20 Immediately after the 15.17 hearing, the magistrate notifies 
the Office of requests for counsel so it can appoint counsel.  

REQUIREMENT 2: DETERMINE INDIGENCE ACCORDING TO STANDARDS 
DIRECTED BY THE INDIGENT DEFENSE PLAN 

Under Article 26.04(l) of the Code of Criminal Procedure, counties must adopt 
procedures and financial standards for determining whether a defendant is indigent. 
Article 26.04(m) lists the factors courts may consider in determining indigence: 

 
16 TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ART. 15.17(a), (e). 
17 TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ART. 15.17(a). 
18 TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ART. 15.17(a). 
19 TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ART. 15.18 (a-1). 
20 Prior to our review, defendants would complete the affidavit at the Office of Indigent 
Defense on the next day. If the defendant made bail prior to the interview at the Office, the 
jail provided the paperwork to the Office. 

FINDINGS  AND RECOMMENDATIONS FOR REQUIREMENT 1 
Conduct prompt and accurate magistration proceedings 

FINDING 1: Article 15.17(e) requires magistrates to ask and record whether each 
defendant requests counsel. Magistrates must ask each defendant whether he or she 
requests counsel, regardless of bail bond status. 
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In determining whether a defendant is indigent, the court or the courts’ designee 
may consider the defendant's income, source of income, assets, property owned, 
outstanding obligations, necessary expenses, the number and ages of dependents, 
and spousal income that is available to the defendant. The court or the courts’ 
designee may not consider whether the defendant has posted or is capable of 
posting bail, except to the extent that it reflects the defendant’s financial 
circumstances as measured by the considerations listed in this subsection.  

The local standards for determining indigence are set in each county’s indigent defense 
plans.  

2.a. Indigence Determinations in Adult Criminal Cases 
For adult criminal cases in Montgomery County, a person is presumed indigent 

if he or she has a household income at or below 125 percent of the Federal Poverty 
Guidelines and non-exempt assets less than $2,500.21 A defendant who does not meet 
these financial standards above may nevertheless be determined indigent if the 
defendant is otherwise unable to retain private counsel without substantial hardship. 

2.b. Indigence Determinations in Juvenile Cases 
In juvenile cases, if the income of the person responsible for the juvenile is less 

than 125 percent of the Federal Poverty Guidelines, the juvenile is presumed to be 
indigent.22 The juvenile may also be determined to be indigent if (1) the responsible 
person is eligible to receive food stamps, Medicaid, Temporary Assistance for Needy 
Families, Supplemental Security Income, or public housing or (2) the difference between 
monthly net household income and reasonable necessary expenses is less than $500.  

 Assessment 
TIDC observed indigence determinations by the Office of Indigent Defense and 

found that Montgomery County is in substantial compliance with Requirement 2 for 
both adult and juvenile cases. 

 
21 The Montgomery District Court Indigent Defense Plan is available at 
http://tidc.tamu.edu/IDPlan/ViewPlan.aspx?PlanID=360. The Montgomery County Court 
Indigent Defense Plan is available at http://tidc.tamu.edu/IDPlan/ViewPlan.aspx?PlanID=266. 
22 The Montgomery Juvenile Board Plan is available at 
http://tidc.tamu.edu/IDPlan/ViewPlan.aspx?PlanID=299. 

FINDINGS  AND RECOMMENDATIONS FOR REQUIREMENT 2 
Determination of Indigence 

Requirement satisfied. No findings. 

http://tidc.tamu.edu/IDPlan/ViewPlan.aspx?PlanID=360
http://tidc.tamu.edu/IDPlan/ViewPlan.aspx?PlanID=266
http://tidc.tamu.edu/IDPlan/ViewPlan.aspx?PlanID=299
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REQUIREMENT 3: ESTABLISH MINIMUM ATTORNEY QUALIFICATIONS 
  Under Article 26.04(d) of the Code of Criminal Procedure, private attorneys 
wishing to take court appointments must apply to be on an appointment list. The list 
must contain objective qualifications, including a minimum annual continuing legal 
education (CLE) requirement of at least six hours per year in criminal or juvenile law.23 
Assigned counsel attorneys must be approved by a majority of judges presiding over 
criminal and juvenile matters. 

3.a. Felony and Misdemeanor Cases 
The district and county courts require all felony and misdemeanor attorneys to 

obtain at least 6 criminal CLE hours annually or be board certified in criminal law. 
Attorneys who speak a foreign language may be given a special language designation. 
Misdemeanor attorneys, felony appeals attorneys, and misdemeanor appeals attorneys 
each have their own lists and are appointed on an assigned counsel basis.  

Montgomery County has recently moved from a rotational felony appointment 
system to a contract system. Felony contract attorneys must obtain at least 10 criminal 
CLE hours annually. Contract attorneys are assigned to a specific court for a year-long 
term. Contracts limit new felony appointments in Montgomery County to 119 
defendants per 15-month contract term. 

3.b. Juvenile Cases 
The juvenile courts require all attorneys to obtain at least 6 juvenile CLE hours 

annually or be board certified in juvenile law. Attorneys who speak a foreign language 
may be given a special language designation. Attorneys are appointed primarily through 
a contract system. Juvenile appeals attorneys have their own list and are appointed on 
an assigned counsel basis.  

 Since 2011, Montgomery County has maintained a juvenile contract system. The 
contract splits juvenile cases between three attorneys. The contract sets a maximum of 
200 juvenile cases per year for each attorney.24 

 Assessment 
TIDC reviewed appointment lists and CLE records, and found that Montgomery 

County has procedures for managing appointment lists and for ensuring that all 

 
23 Title 1 TEX. ADMIN. CODE §§ 174.1 – 4. Attorneys may be Board Certified in criminal or 
juvenile law in lieu of the annual CLE requirement. 
24 The contract requires attorneys “shall conform to the standards developed by the National 
Advisory Commission on Criminal Justice Standards and Goals in 1973”. This standard set a 
maximum of 200 juvenile cases per year. 
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attorneys on the lists meet their annual CLE requirement. TIDC finds Montgomery 
County is in substantial compliance with Requirement 3. 

FINDINGS AND RECOMMENDATIONS FOR REQUIREMENT 3 
Establish Minimum Attorney Qualifications 

Requirement satisfied. No findings. 

REQUIREMENT 4:  APPOINT COUNSEL PROMPTLY 
Adult Cases 
Under Article 1.051(c) of the Code of Criminal Procedure, courts in counties with 

a population over 250,000 must rule on a request for counsel within one working day of 
receiving the request. 

Figure 1b: Timeline for Appointment of Counsel in Adult Criminal Cases 

 

 

Under Article 15.17 and local procedures, the first opportunity for most 
defendants to request counsel is at the Article 15.17 hearing, when a defendant appears 
before a magistrate and is informed of the charges against him or her. If a defendant 
makes bail before the Article 15.17 hearing (or is never brought before a magistrate), 
the defendant has his or her first opportunity to request counsel at the initial 
appearance in the trial court. 

In Montgomery County, defendants who request counsel interview with the Office 
of Indigent Defense. For defendants requesting counsel at the first appearance docket, 
this interview occurs after the court explains the right to counsel to defendants. For 
defendants requesting counsel at the Article 15.17 hearing, the interview formerly 
occurred after the Article 15.17 hearing. Sometimes defendants who promptly made bail 
would not be screened. 

To assess the timeliness of local appointment procedures, TIDC examines case 
files and measures the time from counsel request until appointment of counsel. This 
review examined cases filed in FY2019 (October 2018 to September 2019).  

Code of Crim. Proc. art. 1.051(c) 
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4.a. Timeliness of Appointment in Felony Cases 
TIDC examined 246 sample felony cases filed in FY2019. Counsel was timely 

appointed in 137 of 164 cases in which counsel was requested (84% timely). This falls 
below TIDC’s 90% threshold for presuming a jurisdiction’s practices ensure timely 
appointment of counsel. Counsel was not appointed in a timely manner for cases in 
which defendants made bail shortly after the Article 15.17 hearing without being 
screened for indigence. The County must implement practices that satisfy Article 
1.051(c)(1)’s timeline in felony cases.25 

Table 2: Times to Appointment in Montgomery County Felony Cases 

 Sample 
Size 

Number 
from sample Percent 

Number of case files examined 246   
Total cases with a counsel request  164  

 

Appointment / denial of indigence occurred in:    
     0 work days  44  
     1 work day + 24 hour transfer  93  
Total timely appointments / denials  137 84% 

 

     2 - 4 work days + 24 hour transfer  3  
     More than 4 work days + 24 hour transfer  20  
     No ruling on request  4  
Total untimely appointments / denials  27 16% 

4.b. Timeliness of Appointments in Misdemeanor Cases 
TIDC examined 286 sample misdemeanor cases filed in FY2019. Counsel was 

timely appointed in 102 of 138 cases in which counsel was requested (74% timely). This 
falls below TIDC’s 90% threshold for presuming a jurisdiction’s practices ensure timely 
appointment of counsel. Counsel was not appointed in a timely manner for cases in 
which defendants made bail shortly after the Article 15.17 hearing without being 
screened for indigence. The County must implement practices that satisfy Article 
1.051(c)(1)’s timeline in misdemeanor cases.26 

 
 
 
 
 

 
25 The County has recently changed its procedures so that the Office of Indigent Defense 
screens defendants before 15.17 hearings. If properly implemented, these new procedures 
should address report findings related to the timely appointment of counsel in adult cases. 
26 See previous note. 



13 
 
 

Table 3: Times to Appointment in Montgomery County Misdemeanor Cases  

 Sample 
Size 

Number 
from sample Percent 

Number of case files examined 286   
Total cases with a counsel request  138  

 

Appointment / denial of indigence occurred in:    
     0 work days  56  
     1 work day + 24 hour transfer  46  
Total timely appointments / denials  102 74% 

 

     2 to 4 work days + 24 hour transfer  7  
     More than 4 work days + 24 hour transfer  20  
     No ruling on request  9  
Total untimely appointments / denials  36 26% 

 
Waivers of Counsel in Misdemeanor Cases 

 Article 1.051 of the Code of Criminal Procedure addresses waivers of counsel and 
allows waivers that are voluntarily and intelligently made. Under Article 1.051(f-1), the 
prosecutor may not initiate a waiver and may not communicate with a defendant until 
any pending request for counsel is denied, and the defendant waives the opportunity to 
retain private counsel. Under Article 1.051(f-2), the court must explain the procedures 
for requesting counsel to an unrepresented defendant and must give the defendant a 
reasonable opportunity to request counsel before encouraging the defendant to 
communicate with the attorney representing the state. If a defendant enters an 
uncounseled plea, he or she must sign a written waiver, the language of which must 
substantially conform to the language of Article 1.051(g).27  

 TIDC found five sample cases in which misdemeanor defendants requested 
counsel at the Article 15.17 hearing and later entered uncounseled pleas without their 
requests being ruled upon. In four of those instances, defendants made bail shortly after 
requesting counsel. The absence of a ruling on a pending request raises the possibility 
of several statutory violations, including untimeliness (Art. 1.051(c)) and invalid 
waiver of counsel (Art. 1.051(f-2)). Montgomery County must ensure that its procedures 

 
27 The waiver language of Article 1.051(g) states:   

"I have been advised this ______ day of __________, 2___, by the (name of court) Court of 
my right to representation by counsel in the case pending against me. I have been further 
advised that if I am unable to afford counsel, one will be appointed for me free of charge. 
Understanding my right to have counsel appointed for me free of charge if I am not 
financially able to employ counsel, I wish to waive that right and request the court to 
proceed with my case without an attorney being appointed for me. I hereby waive my right 
to counsel. (signature of defendant)" 
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for ruling on counsel requests meet the requirements of both Article 1.051(c) and 
1.051(f-2).   

4.d. Juvenile Cases 
Counsel must be appointed for juveniles alleged to have engaged in delinquent 

conduct when the juvenile is brought to a detention hearing and when the juvenile is 
served with a copy of the petition alleging misconduct.28 Under Section 54.01(b-1) of the 
Family Code, unless the court finds the appointment of counsel is not feasible due to 
exigent circumstances, the court shall appoint counsel within a reasonable time before 
the first detention hearing. Under Subsections 51.101(c) and (d) of the Family Code, 
once a petition is served on the juvenile, the court has five working days to appoint 
counsel or order the retention of counsel for the juvenile.  

Figure 2: Timeline for Appointment of Counsel in Juvenile Cases 

 

 
28 TEX. FAM. CODE § 51.10(f). 
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Juvenile Detention Hearings 
To assess the timeliness of Montgomery County’s appointment procedures in 

juvenile cases, Montgomery County staff examined 35 cases filed in FY2019 (October 
2018 – September 2019). Section 54.01(b-1) of the Family Code requires counsel be 
appointed prior to the initial detention hearing, unless appointment is not feasible due 
to exigent circumstances.29 Of the 35 sample cases, 32 involved detention hearings. 
Counsel was present for the initial detention hearing in all 32 cases (100% timely), 
which exceeds TIDC’s 90% threshold.  

Appointment After Service of the Petition 
Under Subsections 51.101(c) and (d) of the Family Code, once a petition is served 

on the juvenile, the court has five working days to appoint counsel or order the retention 
of counsel for the juvenile. Of 35 sample cases, all involved service of the petition on the 
juvenile. Counsel was timely appointed for 27 of these cases (77% timely), which does 
not meet TIDC’s 90% threshold. For cases in which the juvenile is not detained, 
Montgomery County must implement procedures that ensure timely appointments of 
counsel. 

Table 4: Times to Appointment in Montgomery County Juvenile Cases  
 Sample 

Size 
Number 

from Sample Percent 
Total juvenile cases examined 35   

 

TIMELINESS OF COUNSEL APPOINTMENTS FOR DETENTION HEARINGS 
Case files with detention hearings  32  
Cases with attorney present at initial hearing  32 100% 

 

TIMELINESS OF COUNSEL APPOINTMENTS WHERE JUVENILE SERVED WITH A PETITION 
Case files in which juvenile served with a petition 35   

Counsel appointed within 5 working days of service  17  
Indigence denied or counsel retained within 5 
working days of service30   10  
Total cases with timely presence of counsel  27 77% 

 

Cases where counsel not present in a timely fashion  8 23% 
 

 
29 TEX. FAM. CODE §54.01(b-1) states: 

Unless the court finds that the appointment of counsel is not feasible due to exigent 
circumstances, the court shall appoint counsel within a reasonable time before the first 
detention hearing is held to represent the child at that hearing. 

30 TIDC considered a denial of indigence to be synonymous with an order to retain counsel. 
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REQUIREMENT 5: INSTITUTE A FAIR, NEUTRAL, AND NONDISCRIMINATORY 
ATTORNEY SELECTION PROCESS  

Article 26.04(b)(6) of the Code of Criminal Procedure requires that local 
procedures for appointing counsel ensure appointments are allocated among qualified 
attorneys in a fair, neutral, and nondiscriminatory manner.  

5.a. Felony Courts 
The primary method for appointing counsel in Montgomery County felony courts 

is through a contract system.  Contract Defender Rules (Title 1, Rules 174.10 – 174.25 
of the Texas Administrative Code) require an open application process and specific 
elements to be addressed in each contract.  

The Office of Indigent Defense emails an application notice to the Montgomery 
County Bar Association. Judges review attorney applications, and approved attorneys 

FINDINGS AND RECOMMENDATIONS FOR REQUIREMENT 4 
Appoint Counsel Promptly 

FINDING 2 (FELONY CASES): Montgomery County’s felony appointment process did 
not meet TIDC’s threshold for timely appointment of counsel (90% timely). Under 
Article 1.051(c)(2), district courts must rule on all requests for counsel within one 
working day. The County must implement practices that satisfy Article 1.051(c)(2)’s 
timeline. 
FINDING 3 (MISDEMEANOR CASES): Montgomery County’s misdemeanor 
appointment process did not meet TIDC’s threshold for timely appointment of 
counsel (90% timely). Under Article 1.051(c)(2), statutory county courts must rule on 
all requests for counsel within one working day. The County must implement 
practices that satisfy Article 1.051(c)(2)’s timeline. 
FINDING 4 (MISDEMEANOR CASES): The absence of a ruling on a pending request 
raises the possibility of several statutory violations, including untimeliness (Art. 
1.051(c)) and invalid waiver of counsel (Art. 1.051(f-2)). Montgomery County must 
ensure that its procedures for ruling on counsel requests meet the requirements of 
both Article 1.051(c) and 1.051(f-2). 
FINDING 5 (JUVENILE CASES): For cases in which the juvenile is not detained, 
Montgomery County’s juvenile appointment process did not meet TIDC’s threshold 
for appointment of counsel (90% timely). Section 51.101(d) of the Family Code 
requires the appointment of counsel within five working days of petition service on 
the juvenile. Montgomery County must implement procedures that ensure timely 
appointments of counsel in cases in which a petition is served on the juvenile.  
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may execute a contract with the County. Contract attorneys are assigned to specific 
district courts for 15-month terms. Each court has 11 contract attorneys assigned to it. 

TIDC compared the contract terms with the requirements set by the Contract 
Defender Rules.31 The contract terms met all requirements. Attorneys are paid $87,500 
per 15-month term (Spanish-speaking attorneys are paid $93,750). The current contract 
sets a maximum caseload of 119 defendants per 15-month term. Attorneys appeared to 
follow the maximum caseloads under the contract, but all attorneys accepted additional 
appointed cases outside of the contract. In some instances, these totals were substantial.  

5.b. Misdemeanor Courts 
In assigned counsel systems, TIDC presumes a jurisdiction has a fair, neutral, 

and nondiscriminatory appointment system if the top 10% of attorneys receiving cases 
at a given level receive no more than three times their respective share of 
appointments.32 If a county can track appointments by list, this analysis is made 
according to each appointment list. A county can overcome the presumption by 
providing evidence as to why the system is fair, neutral, and nondiscriminatory.  

The misdemeanor courts use a rotational system of appointment. Under the 
rotational system, the court (or court’s designee) appoints the attorney who is next on 
the appointment wheel, and once an appointment is received, the attorney moves to the 
bottom of the list. Most misdemeanor appointments are made by the Office of Indigent 
Defense when defendants are screened for indigence.33  

TIDC examined the distribution of misdemeanor appointments during FY2019. 
TIDC attempts to consider only those attorneys who were on the appointment list for 
the entire year. TIDC split this analysis between special language designated attorneys 
and all other attorneys on the appointment lists. Based on this analysis, the distribution 
of appointments was within TIDC’s threshold for presuming a jurisdiction’s 
appointment system is fair, neutral, and nondiscriminatory (top ten percent receive less 
than 3.0 times their representative share). 

  

 
31 1 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 174.28(c)(5)(A). 
32 1 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 174.28(c)(5)(D). 
33 TIDC has observed that, when courts designate this type of separate entity to appoint 
counsel, attorney appointments tend to be evenly distributed. 
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Table 5: Share of Cases Paid to Top 10% of Attorneys in Montgomery County 

Level 

Attorneys 
on List34  

Top 10% 
Attorneys35 

Respective 
Share of 
Cases36 
[Column A] 

Actual Share 
of Cases 
[Column B] 

Top 10% Received 
‘x’ Times Their 
Respective Share 
[Col. B] / [ Col. A] 

Misd. - 
English 63 6 9.5% 17.3% 1.8 
Misd. – 
Special 
Language 14 1 7.1% 14.6% 2.0 

5.c. Juvenile Courts 
The primary method for appointing counsel in the juvenile courts is through a 

contract system. TIDC has established Contract Defender Rules (Title 1, Rules 174.10 
– 174.25 of the Texas Administrative Code) that require an open application process and 
specific elements to be addressed in each contract. TIDC measures the fairness of the 
selection process in contract cases according to whether an open solicitation process 
meeting the requirements of the Contract Defender Rules. 

For the initial contract, the County Purchasing Office emails an application 
notice, for a three-year juvenile defense contract to every attorney on the County’s 
appointment list. The Juvenile Board reviews the applications and approves attorneys 
who are eligible to execute a contract with the County. After an attorney has entered 
into a contract with the County, the attorney may renew the contract for one additional 
three-year term by submitting a letter of intent and receiving approval from the 
Juvenile Board. If the Juvenile Board elects not to renew the contract, the County starts 
over with a new open solicitation.  

TIDC compared the contract terms with the requirements set by the Contract 
Defender Rules. The contract terms met all requirements. The juvenile contract is 
allocated to one law firm with three attorneys for $200,000 per year. The contract sets 
a maximum caseload per attorney of 200 juvenile defendants per year. Caseloads for the 
contract attorneys appear to follow the maximum caseload limits, but it is unclear how 

 
34 TIDC considered an attorney had been on the list for the entire year if the attorney received 
payment for disposing a case in FY2019, the attorney was on the April 2019 list, and the 
attorney was on the September 2019 appointment list. If an attorney did not meet these three 
conditions, the attorney was excluded from the analysis. 
35 The number Top 10% Attorneys is equal to the number of Attorneys on List for Entire Year 
multiplied by 0.10, rounded to the nearest whole number. 
36 The percent Respective Share of Cases is equal to the number of Top 10% Attorneys divided 
by the number of Attorneys on List for Entire Year. 
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these cases are distributed among the three attorneys.37 Attorneys also accepted 
additional cases outside the contract.  

FINDINGS AND RECOMMENDATIONS FOR REQUIREMENT 5 
Attorney Selection Process 

Requirement satisfied. No findings. 

REQUIREMENT 6: REPORT DATA REQUIRED BY STATUTE 
Under Section 79.036(e) of the Texas Government Code, the county auditor (or 

other person designated by the commissioners’ court) must annually prepare and send 
indigent defense data to the Commission. This data must include the total expenses for 
cases in which an attorney was appointed for an indigent defendant or indigent juvenile 
in each district court, county court, statutory county court, and appellate court. Since 
FY2014, financial data reports must include attorney-level information.38  

TIDC conducted a fiscal monitoring review of Montgomery County’s indigent 
defense expenses and shares its findings in a separate report. 

FINDINGS AND RECOMMENDATIONS FOR REQUIREMENT 6 
Statutory Data Reporting 

TIDC conducted a fiscal monitoring review of Montgomery County’s indigent defense 
expenses and shares its findings in a separate report. 

Conclusion 
TIDC thanks Montgomery County officials and staff for their assistance in 

completing this review. TIDC will conduct a follow-up review regarding its 
noncompliance findings within two years.39 TIDC staff stand ready to provide technical 
and financial assistance to remedy these issues and ensure full compliance with the Fair 
Defense Act. 

 
37 The number of cases covered by the contract has varied from 230 cases to 263 cases per 
year. All cases are reported as being assigned to William Pattillo. 
38 TEX. GOV’T CODE § 79.036(a-1). 
39 Title 1 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 174.28(c)(2). 
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Summary of Findings and Recommendations 
Montgomery County must respond in writing how it will address the report’s 

findings.  

REQUIREMENT 1: CONDUCT PROMPT AND ACCURATE MAGISTRATION 
PROCEEDINGS. 

FINDING 1: Article 15.17(e) requires magistrates to ask and record whether each 
defendant requests counsel. Magistrates must ask each defendant whether he or she 
requests counsel, regardless of bail bond status. 

REQUIREMENT 4: APPOINT COUNSEL PROMPTLY. 
FINDING 2 (FELONY CASES): Montgomery County’s felony appointment process did not 
meet TIDC’s threshold for timely appointment of counsel (90% timely). Under Article 
1.051(c)(2), district courts must rule on all requests for counsel within one working day. 
The County must implement practices that satisfy Article 1.051(c)(2)’s timeline. 
FINDING 3 (MISDEMEANOR CASES): Montgomery County’s misdemeanor appointment 
process did not meet TIDC’s threshold for timely appointment of counsel (90% timely). 
Under Article 1.051(c)(2), statutory county courts must rule on all requests for counsel 
within one working day. The County must implement practices that satisfy Article 
1.051(c)(2)’s timeline. 
FINDING 4 (MISDEMEANOR CASES): The absence of a ruling on a pending request raises 
the possibility of several statutory violations, including untimeliness (Art. 1.051(c)) and 
invalid waiver of counsel (Art. 1.051(f-2)). Montgomery County must ensure that its 
procedures for ruling on counsel requests meet the requirements of both Article 1.051(c) 
and 1.051(f-2). 
FINDING 5 (JUVENILE CASES): For cases in which the juvenile is not detained, 
Montgomery County’s juvenile appointment process did not meet TIDC’s threshold for 
appointment of counsel (90% timely). Section 51.101(d) of the Family Code requires the 
appointment of counsel within five working days of petition service on the juvenile. 
Montgomery County must implement procedures that ensure timely appointments of 
counsel in cases in which a petition is served on the juvenile.  
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Appendix: Monitoring Review Checklist 
The monitoring review of the FDA’s core requirements consisted of an 

examination of the items from the following checklist. If a box is marked, the specific 
requirement was met. If a box is not marked, the requirement either was not satisfied 
or is not applicable.  

REQUIREMENT 1: CONDUCT PROMPT AND ACCURATE ARTICLE 15.17 
PROCEEDINGS 

☒ The accused must be brought before a magistrate within 48 hours of arrest.40 
• A person arrested for a misdemeanor without a warrant must be released on bond 

in an amount no more than $5,000 not later than 24 hours after arrest if a 
magistrate has not determined probable cause by that time.41 

☐ The magistrate must inform and explain the right to counsel and the right to appointed 
counsel to the accused.42 

☒ The magistrate must ensure that reasonable assistance in completing forms necessary 
to request counsel is provided to the accused.43 

☒ A record must be made of the following:  
• the magistrate informing the accused of the accused’s right to request appointment 

of counsel;  
• the magistrate asking whether accused wants to request appointment of counsel;  
• and whether the person requested court appointed counsel.44 

☒ If authorized to appoint counsel, the magistrate must do so within one working day 
after receipt of request for counsel in counties with a population of 250,000 or more 
and within three working days in counties under 250,000.45 

☒ If not authorized to appoint counsel, the magistrate must transmit or cause to be 
transmitted to the appointing authority an accused’s request for counsel within 24 
hours of the request being made.46 

 
40 TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ART. 14.06(a).  
41 TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ART. 17.033. 
42 TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ART. 15.17(a). This box is not marked because TIDC observed that 
defendants who received a personal bond were not initially asked if they wanted to request 
counsel. 
43 Id.  
44 TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ART. 15.17(e).  
45 See, e.g., TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ART. 15.17(a) (requiring magistrate to appoint counsel 
according to the timeframes set in TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ART. 1.051); TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. 
ART. 1.051(c) (spelling out timeframe for appointment of counsel by county population size). 
46 TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ART. 15.17(a). 
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REQUIREMENT 2: DETERMINE INDIGENCE ACCORDING TO STANDARDS 
DIRECTED BY THE INDIGENT DEFENSE PLAN. 

☒ Provide detailed procedures used to determine whether a defendant is indigent.47  
☒ State the financial standard(s) to determine whether a defendant is indigent.48  
☒ List factors the court will consider when determining whether a defendant is 

indigent.49 

REQUIREMENT 3: ESTABLISH MINIMUM ATTORNEY QUALIFICATIONS.  
☒ Establish objective qualification standards for attorneys to be on an appointment 

list.50  
• Standards must require attorneys to complete at least six hours of continuing legal 

education pertaining to criminal / juvenile law during each 12-month reporting 
period or be currently certified in criminal law by the Texas Board of Legal 
Specialization.51 

• Standards must require attorneys to submit by October 15 each year the percentage 
of the attorney's practice time dedicated to indigent defense based on criminal and 
juvenile appointments accepted in this county. The report must be made on a form 
prescribed by the Texas Indigent Defense Commission for the prior 12 months that 
begins on October 1 and ends on September 30.52 

REQUIREMENT 4: APPOINT COUNSEL PROMPTLY (JUVENILES). 
☒ Unless the court finds that the appointment of counsel is not feasible due to exigent 

circumstances, the court shall appoint counsel within a reasonable time before the 
first detention hearing is held to represent the child at that hearing.53 

☐ If the child was not detained, an attorney must be appointed on or before the fifth 
working day after the date the petition for adjudication, motion to modify, or 
discretionary transfer hearing was served on the child.54  

 
47 TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ART. 26.04(l)–(r).  
48 TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ART. 26.04(l). 
49 TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ART. 26.04(m). 
50 TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ART. 26.04(d). 
51 1 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 174.1–.4. 
52 TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ART. 26.04(j)(4). 
53 TEX. FAM. CODE § 54.01(b-1). TEX. FAM. CODE § 51.10(c). 
54 TEX. FAM. CODE § 51.101(d).  
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REQUIREMENT 4: APPOINT COUNSEL PROMPTLY (ADULTS). 
☒ Incarcerated persons: After receipt of a request for counsel, counsel must be 

appointed within one working day in counties with a population of 250,000 or more 
and within three working days in counties under 250,000.55 

☐ Persons out of custody: Counsel must be appointed at the defendant’s first court 
appearance or when adversarial judicial proceedings are initiated, whichever comes 
first.56  

☐ All unrepresented defendants must be advised of the right to counsel and the 
procedures for obtaining counsel.57 

REQUIREMENT 5: INSTITUTE A FAIR, NEUTRAL, AND NONDISCRIMINATORY 
ATTORNEY SELECTION PROCESS. 

☒ Rotational method: The court must appoint an attorney from among the next five 
names on the appointment list in the order in which the attorneys’ names appear on 
the list, unless the court makes a finding of good cause on the record for appointing 
an attorney out of order.58  

☐ Public Defender: The system must meet the requirements set out in Article 26.044 
of the Code of Criminal Procedure. The appointment process must be listed in the 
indigent defense plan.59  
NOT APPLICABLE: The County does not have a public defender. 

☒ 
 

Alternative appointment method:60  
• The local processes must be established by a vote of two-thirds of the judges. 
• The plan must be approved by the presiding judge of the administrative judicial 

region. 
• The courts must allocate appointments reasonably and impartially among 

qualified attorneys. 
 

 
55 TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ART. 1.051(c).  
56 TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ART. 1.051(j); see also Rothgery v. Gillespie Cnty., 554 U.S. 191, 212 
– 13 (2008) (holding that “a criminal defendant's initial appearance before a judicial officer, 
where he learns the charge against him and his liberty is subject to restriction, marks the 
start of adversary judicial proceedings that trigger attachment of the Sixth Amendment right 
to counsel.”). 
This box is not checked because several defendants requested counsel but made bail before 
being screened for indigence. Their requests often resulted in late appointments or no rulings 
on their requests. 
57 TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ART. 1.051(f-2).  
This box is not check because some misdemeanor defendants requested counsel but entered 
uncounseled pleas without their requests being ruled upon. 
58 TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ART. 26.04(a).  
59 TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ART. 26.044.  
60 TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ART. 26.04(g)–(h). 
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