RANDALL COUNTY TEXAS

ERNIE HOUDASHELL
RaNDALL COUNTY JUDGE

February 28, 2013

James D. Bethke ‘
Director, Texas Indigent Defense Commission
209 W. 14™ Street, Rm. 202

Austin, Texas 78701

Re: Response to TIDC Review of Randall County’s Indigent Defense System

Dear Mr. Bethke,

Randall County herewith submits its Response to TIDC Review of Randall County’s Indigent
Defense System, dated October 26, 2012. The monitoring visit and review took place June 11-
15, 2012. We believe our responses detail the policies and procedures we have already or are

currently implementing to address your recommendations and to be in compliance with our
indigence defense responsibilities.

If you have further questions or if you need further information, please feel free to contact me.
Respectfully,

Eguet

Ernie Houdashell

501 16TH STREET - SuItk 303 - CaNYON, TEXAS 79015 - (806) 468-5500 - Fax (806) 468-5503




Responses to Recommendations — Randall County

Core Requirement 1. Conduct prompt and accurate magdistration proceedings.

1.

Recommendation: The monitor's sample of magistrate warnings did not fali
within the Commission’s threshold for presuming that a jurisdiction’s
processes ensure timely magistrate warnings. Randall County must
implement procedures that ensure warnings are timely.

Response: The overview of Randall County's Indigent Defense System on
page 7 of the TIDC Review of Randall County's Indigent Defense System
describes and acknowledges our daily arraignment practices, thus verifying

-and acknowledging that we are well within the 48 hour requirement for an

accused to be brought before a magistrate.

To further clarify and address Recommendation 1, we offer the following
information and implemented changes we have taken or are taking to better
comply with our indigence defense plan.

Local Administrative Order 2013-1 (attached below), dated January 1, 2013,
sets all misdemeanor bonds for the jail (generally at $1500, but at $3000 for
bond forfeiture warrants and $5000 for Family Violence cases), including
Class C misdemeanors (at $500). Anyone arrested on a misdemeanor charge
may bond immediately, if appropriate, rather than waiting for a judge to set
bond. If a defendant does not bond out, they are magistrated the following
morning per standard procedure. After initial magistration, if additional
charges are added to a defendant already in custody, the defendant is
magistrated on the new charges the following morning. The magistrate
warning form has been updated in Randall County. The form more clearly
indicates in writing whether or not a defendant requests court-appointed
counse! at time of arraignment.

Recommendation: Reguests for counsel must be promptly transmitted to the
appointing authority (within 24 hours of request) as required by Article
15.17(a) and the local indigent defense plan. Article 15.17 puts the
responsibility for this transmission on the magistrate.

Response: Article 15.17(a) states that requests for counsel must be promptly
transmitted to the appointing authority (within 24 hours) who then under
Article 1.051 has to act on the request within three (3) working days in
counties under 250.000. We acknowledge the need to improve our system to
ensure said requests are transmitted to the proper appointing authority in a
timely manner.

Randall County will ensure the arraignment room deputies have the required
paperwork for court appointed attorney requests within 24 hours. Immediately
following magistration, the arraignment room deputies will have those inmates
who requested court appointed counsel during magistration complete the
Financial Information Statement and Request for Attorney form. Once filled
out, the deputies will attach the attorney request form to the magistration form
of the defendant.




If the defendant requests an attorney and then refuses to complete the form,
the arraignment deputy will attach a blank attorney request form to the
magistrate warning, and write “Refused to Complete” across the attorney
request form and attach it to the defendant's magistrate warning form. If the
defendant requests an attorney and then changes their mind about wanting
court appointed counsel, the arraignment deputy will have the defendant write
in their own handwriting at the bottom of the attorney request form that he or
she no longer wishes to request court appointed counsel and sign i, and
attach it to the appropriate magistrate warning form. Thus each magistration
form that indicates the defendant requested court appointed counsel will have
an attorney requestfiinancial information sheet attached to it, creating a paper
trail to alert the responsible court administrator or coordinator of the need to
act promptly regarding that request.

In an instance where a defendant refuses to complete the attorney request
form or indicates that they have changed their mind about requesting court
appointed counsel, they will be brought before a magistrate or judge the
following day to be admonished regarding their right to request court
appointed counsel and asked to confirm whether or not they wish to request
court appointed counsel at that time. A new magistrate’s warning form will be
filled out at that time, indicating whether or not the defendant requests court
appointed counsel. If the said defendant bonds out before being re-
magistrated, then Article 1.051() states “appointment of counsel is not
required until the defendant's first court appearance or when adversarial
judicial proceedings are initiated, whichever comes first” So in these
instances, the felony court administrator or the misdemeanor court
coordinator will contact the defendant to come in for an attorney status
determination, where they will be asked if they want a court appointed
attorney, and if so, have them fill out the paperwork at that time.

Each business day morning, the transport deputy picks up the magistrate
warnings and attorney request forms from the arraignment deputies, and
_delivers those forms that same morning to the proper appointing authority
under our indigent defense plan.

Recommendation: Misdemeanor requests for counsel made before a case
filing must be directed to the person listed in the local indigent defense plan:
Judge Anderson’s office.

Response: Each business day morning, the transport deputy picks up the
magistrate warnings and attorney request forms from the arraignment
deputies, and delivers those forms with the felony charges to the felony court
administrator and those forms with misdemeanor cases to the court
coordinator for County Court at Law #1. They will then take the appropriate
action on any requests for court-appointed counsel. In the event the
defendant requesting an attorney has both felony and misdemeanor charges,
the request form will first go to the court coordinator for County Court at Law
#1, who will act on the attorney request, and then send the paperwork to the
felony court administrator to act on the felony case request.




Core Requirement 4. Appoint counsel promptly.

4.

Recommendation: Randall County must implement processes that ensure
timely appointment of counsel in felony cases.

Response: See above responses to Core Requirement 1. Additionally,
anyone on bond who comes to court and requests court appointed counsel
will be provided the approved Financial Information Statement and Request
for Attorney form to fill out. Once the defendant has completed the form, it
will be given to the felony court administrator, who will then take the
appropriate action on the request for court appointed attorney.

Recommendation; Randall County must implement processes that ensure
timely appointment of counsel when there is a decision to detain a juvenile.

Response: When a decision to detain a juvenile is made at a detention
hearing, the parent or guardian of the juvenile is ordered to obtain an attorney
to represent the child. They are further informed that if they cannot afford an
attorney, they have the right to request the court to appoint an attorney to
represent the juvenile. The Financial Information Statement and Request for
Attorney for a Juvenile form is also provided to them upon their request. The
court acts upon the request for court appointed counsel the same day it is
received. The main change Randall County has made in this area is we now
put the order to the parent/guardian to obtain an attorney in writing to be able
to verify our compliance.

Recommendation: Randall County must implement processes that ensure
timely appointment of counsel when there is a petition served on a juvenile.

Response: When a petition and summons is served on a juvenile, they are
ordered to appear with a parent or guardian on the second Thursday following
the date of the filing of the petition at 8:30 a.m. for an attorney status docket
(they are given a date certain in the summons). If they obtain an attorney
prior to that docket date, they do not have to appear. If they appear at the
attorney status docket, they are informed that they must obtain an attorney to
represent the juvenile, and are ordered to do so. Each parent or guardian is
given a Financial Information Statement and Request for Attomey for a
Juvenile form at said docket. If they choose to complete the request form that
day, then the court reviews it immediately, and if they qualify, appoints an
attorney at that time. If they do not qualify, they are informed immediately,
and are ordered to obtain an attorney for their juvenile. If they indicate at the
attorney status docket they wish to hire an attorney, they are ordered to
obtain an attorney before the next court date. In each instance, the juvenile is
then continued to a new court date, generally three (3) weeks from then. The
major change is that we are now putting the order to the parent or guardian to
obtain an attorney for their juvenile in writing to be able to verify our
compliance.




IN THE COUNTY COURTS AT LAW §
IN AND FOR §
RANDALL COUNTY, TEXAS §
Local Administrative Qrder 20i3-1

BOND PROCEDURES FOR THE RANDALL COUNTY COURTS AT LAW
REVISED: January 1, 2013

On this day IT IS ORDERED by the Council of Statutory County Court Judges:

A Magistrate is not bound by this order when setting bonds. Subject to the exceptions listed below, there are three
usual types of misdemeanor bonds for the cases pending in the County Courts at Law:

1. $1,500.00 Cash Bond
2, $1,500.00 Surety Bond
3. $1,500.00 Pre-Trial Release Bond (PTR)

EXCEPTION: CLASS C MISDEMEANORS
The bond in Class C misdemeanor cases will be $500 cash or surety.

EXCEPTION: CASES INVOLVING FAMILY VIOLENCE

The bond in cases alleging acts of family violence will be $5,000 cash or surety. Personal Bonds and Pre-Trial
Release (PTR) bonds are not available for cases involving family violence. When a person has been arrested or held
without a warrant in the prevention of family violence, if there is probable cause to believe the violence will
continue if the person is immediately released, the head of the agency arresting or holding such a person may hold
the persen for a period of not more than four hours after bond has been posted. This period may be extended only if
authorized in writing, directed to the person having custody of the detained person, by a magistrate who concludes
that the violence would continue if the person is released, but in no case may such a period of detention exceed 24
hours. (Art. 17.291 of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure)

BOND SURRENDERS, BOND FORFEITURES, BOND ON A MOTION TO REVOKE PROBATION and
BOND ON A MOTION TO PROCEED WITH APJUDICATION:

Bond will be $3000.00 Cash or Surety OR double the amount of the previous bond, whichever is higher. Personal
Bonds and Pre-Trial Release (PTR) bonds are not available for these cases.

The return date on all bonds shall be INSTANTER. Arraignments will be held as follows: all filed cases
(those with a cause number), the following business day after posting bail; all non-filed cases (those with no
cause number as of posting of a bond), the next business day following one week after posting bail. All
arraignments are at 8:20 A.M. in the assigned County Court at Law, 2309 Russell Long Blvd, Canyon, Texas

79015,

This Order replaces Local Administrative Order 2009-1. Any questions regarding the above matters may be referred
to Judge Anderson, Presiding Judge.

IT IS ORDERED that the Clerk of this Court shall record this Order in the minutes of this Court.

Signed this 1¥ day of January, 2013.

/s/ James W. Anderson /s/ _Ronnie Walker
Judge James W Anderson Judge Ronnie Walker
County Court at Law #1 County Court at Law #2

Local Administrative Judge




